Soane Lead

The Soane Medal and Lecture is given annually to recognise architects, educators and critics who have made a major contribution to their field. Recipients have included Rafael Moneo, Denise Scott Brown and Kenneth Frampton. In Autumn 2020 I worked with Sir John Soane’s Museum as consulting editor to create a permanent, recognisable and celebratory home for the award at

In addition to publishing edited extracts from past Soane Medal lectures, I commissioned new writing in the form of Five Voices: five different contributors – practitioners, historians, curators and teachers – who could speak to different aspects of the life and work of these architectural luminaries, among them Juhani Pallasmaa and Shelley McNamara on Kenneth Frampton; Martino Stierli, Beatriz Colomina and Kersten Geers on Denise Scott Brown; and Ricardo Flores & Eva Prats and Peter Eisenman on Rafael Moneo. I also undertook all picture research for the project, working with archives, individuals and offices to bring together the recipients’ projects with biographical material from their lives.

The new launched in early December 2020 and will grow each year, as a new recipient is announced.